The City Of Quimper, Fr.

Quimper The Town

Quimper The Town


Quimper is the ancient capital of Kernev (French: Cornouaille), Brittany’s most traditional region, and has a distinctive Breton character. Shops and flags celebrating the region’s Celtic heritage can be found throughout the city. Quimper was originally settled during Roman times. By AD 495, the town had become a Bishopric. It subsequently became the capital of the counts of Cornouailles. In the 11th century, it was united with the Duchy of Brittany. During the civil wars of the 14th century, the town suffered considerable ruin. In 1364, the duchy passed to the House of Montfort.

.quimpertwo

aquimpertwo

aquimperriver7

One thought on “The City Of Quimper, Fr.

  1. Reblogged this on 20 Lines A Day and commented:

    Let The Adventure Begin

    When I was a little girl I tried to swim in the sea. I wanted to find the horizon and see what lay beyond. I am not sure if my curious roaming nature was just a tad bit unrealistic, for having traveled, I found I lost my roots. But I guess the travel bug was always in my DNA and my soul recognized it. Today, I have traveled through over 10 foreign countries and taken many thousands of photos. You are welcome to come with me in my adventures. Let’s see what we find.

    Like

Leave a Reply

